Skip to Content

Charleston: A Warrior H.O.M.E.

Team members: Row 1 (l-r) Michael Reidenbach, Rita Zelinsky, Jacob Perlmutter
Row 2 (l-r) Joseph Williams, Kathi Love, Kim Wilson

Project H.O.M.E. (Helping Others Mirror Excellence)
www.projecthomesc.org

Data: According to Charleston County School District (CCSD) there were 277 homeless students that resided in the north zone during the 2015-16 school year. 67% of the homeless students that attend CCSD schools live in the north zone. There are four high schools in the north zone, R.B. Stall, North Charleston, Garrett, and Military Magnet. R.B. Stall High School is the largest Title 1 school in CCSD with over 1300 students. Seventeen homeless students attended R.B. Stall in 2015-16. Student breakdown consisted of 6 freshmen, 4 sophomores, 2 juniors, and 5 seniors.

Charitable Purpose: The purpose of Project H.O.M.E. is to provide a home like environment for R.B. Stall students (ages 17-21) that become homeless while still in school. This home will provide students a safe, secure, and nurturing environment so that they can remain within the attendance zone of their home school. Students will be supervised by house parents, receive meals, and academic assistance. Students may reside in the home either temporarily or long term as long as they abide by the rules and procedures of the home and until they meet all graduation requirements for a SC diploma.

Directors:

Angela Henderson:  angelahenderson519@gmail.com
Otha Meadows:  otha.meadows@ctul.org
Kathi Love:  klove@northcharleston.org
William Silva:  wsilva@homedreamsfoundation.com
Rita Zelinsky:  RZelinsky@charlestoncounty.org
Jacob Perlmutter:  jacob_perlmutter@charleston.k12.sc.us
Dr. Joe Williams:  joseph_williams@charleston.k12.sc.us
Michelle Mapp:  michelle@sccommunityloanfund.org
Allison Gable:  alison_gable@charleston.k12.sc.us
Sharon Armstrong:  sharon_armstrong@charleston.k12.sc.us
Sheri Pearson:  spearson@northcharleston.org
Sonya Jones:  sonya_jones@charleston.k12.sc.us
Kim Wilson:  kim_wilson@charleston.k12.sc.us