Skip to Content

Program Hosts

Program Hosts

Terry K. Peterson
Director, Afterschool and Community Learning Network, College of Charleston; Chair of National Board, Afterschool Allliance; Senior Fellow, Riley Institute

Terry Peterson develops strategies and partnerships for education reforms and expanded learning opportunities and partnerships across America and in developing countries. While holding federal and state executive education positions, Terry helped develop numerous education policies including: at the federal level, 21st Century Community Learning Centers, E-rate, GEAR-UP; and teacher and technology quality grants; and, at the state level, early childhood education; teacher recruitment; performance pay programs; innovation funds; accountability systems; and the arts in                                 the basic curriculum.


Richard W. Riley
Former South Carolina Governor and United States Secretary of Education

Richard W. Riley for whom the Riley Institute at Furman is named, is the former U. S. Secretary of Education (1993–2001) and former Governor of South Carolina (1979–1987). Secretary Riley currently is a senior partner in the law firm of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough and its affiliate, EducationCounsel. Riley earned his bachelor’s degree, cum laude, in political science from Furman in 1954 and received a J.D. from the University of South Carolina School of Law in 1959. In 2008, Riley was named one of the Top 10 Cabinet Members of the 20th Century by Time magazine.


William S. White
Chief Executive Office; Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

William S. White is chairman, president, and chief executive officer of the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation of Flint, Michigan. He has been with the Foundation since 1969, has been its president since 1976, and has served as chairman of the Board since 1988. Mr. White currently serves on the boards of the European Foundation Centre, United States Sugar Corporation (chairman), and the Network of European Foundations for Innovative Cooperation. He is also a member of the Administrative Council of the Madariaga European Foundation.