Skip to Content

Emerging Public Leaders Class of 2003-04

The Emerging Public Leaders 2003-04
July 27 - August 2, 2003

The Riley Institute at Furman welcomed the 2003-04 Emerging Public Leaders (EPL) to campus on July 27 - August 2, 2003, for a week filled with activities and opportunities to learn about public leadership. This year's participants came from Ohio, Mexico and various high schools throughout South Carolina.

The 2003-04 student participants are:

Heather Beasley, Euclid High School, Euclid, OH
Eileen Chiaro, Hilton Head Preparatory School, Hilton Head Island, SC
Kirsten Coleman, Southside High School, Greenville, SC
Clara Copley, Spartanburg High School, Spartanburg, SC
Kasey Creswell, Hillcrest High School, Simpsonville, SC
Caitlin Gardner, Saint Ursala Academy, Cincinnati, OH
Miguel Guerro, Prepa Tec, Santa Catarina, N.L., Mexico
Kristen Kennedy, Trinity Collegiate, Darlington, SC
Jarred Peterson, Mayo High School for MST, Darlington, SC
Susanna Ratsavong, Garfield High School, Akron, OH
Anna Ready, Emerald High School, Greenwood, SC
Ashley Rice, Saint Ursala Academy, Cincinnati, OH
Yaasira Scott, East High School, Cleveland, OH
Monica Taylor, Estill High School, Estill, SC
Anthony Thompson, Mauldin High School, Mauldin, SC
Mary Utsey, Hillcrest High School, Simpsonville, SC
Andrew Waters, Christ Church Episcopal School, Greenville, SC
Whitney White, Hemingway High School, Hemingway, SC
Taylor Witten, Shaw High School, East Cleveland, OH

As a requirement of the EPL program, each student planned, implemented, and presented the results of a public service project. Presentations were judged and criteria included vision, planning, execution, program impact, and presentation skills.

The winners are as follows:

First Prize:  Eileen Chiaro
Second Prize Tie:  Kristen Kennedy and Anna Ready
Honorable Mention: Heather Beasley and Miguel Cavazos

Accomplishments of the 2003-04 EPL students

For all the students' projects, click here.