Skip to Content

Emerging Public Leaders Class of 2006-07

The Emerging Public Leaders 2006-07
July 24 - 29, 2006

The Riley Institute at Furman welcomed the 2006-07 Emerging Public Leaders (EPL) to campus on July 24 - 29, 2006, for a week filled with activities and opportunities to learn about public leadership. This year's participants came from Ohio, New York, North Carolina, and various high schools throughout South Carolina.

To view the Schedule of Activities, click here.  To read the student's blog, click here.

The 2006-07 student participants are:

Utsav Bansal, Brighton High School — Rochester, NY
Sean Bear, Pinewood Preparatory School — Summerville, SC
Rachael Bedosky, Bluffton High School — Bluffton, SC
James Beja, Strom Thurmond High School — Johnston, SC
Ali Boyd, Hammond School — Columbia, SC
Danielle Brandon, Mid-Carolina High School — Prosperity, SC
Cotrel Brooks, Lake Marion High School — Santee, SC
TJ Brown, Lexington High School — Lexington, SC
Anna Dearybury, Spartanburg High School — Spartanburg, SC
Sarah Delap, Riverside High School — Greer, SC
Lorna Fink, East Forsyth High School — Kernersville, NC
Brann Fowler, Thomas Heyward Academy — Ridgeland, SC
Hakeem Jefferson, Crestwood High School — Sumter, SC
Stephanie Matson, Thomas Worthington High School — Worthington, OH
Sarah Meadows, Barnwell High School — Barnwell, SC
Shana Roach, Fairfield Central High School — Winnsboro, SC
Lindsey Wallace, Mauldin High School —Mauldin, SC
Denyse Walls, The Beacon School — New York, NY
Becca Wilson, Upper Arlington High School — Upper Arlington, OH
Melissa Youssef, Southside High School — Greenville, SC

Students returned to campus March 23 - 24, 2007

As a requirement of the EPL program, each student planned, implemented, and presented the results of a public service project. Presentations were judged and criteria included vision, planning, execution, program impact, and presentation skills.

For their spring presentation schedule of events, click here; for the judges' biographies, click on their name — Beth Brotherton, Allen Hamada, Shunta Harmon, Damien Michelin and Donald R. Raber.

Winners were selected and received a cash prize that they may either: 1) apply to the budget of the project initiated by the student with the goal of continuing and/or enhancing the project; or 2) donate to any partnering organization or other organization in their community with similar mission/goals as the student's project.   .

The winners are as follows:

First Place Tie: Hakeem Jefferson $1,500 and Lorna Fink $1,500
Second Place Tie: Stephanie Matson $1,000 and Sarah Meadows $1,000
Honorable Mention: Cotrel Brooks, Danielle Brandon, and Ustav Bansal

Accomplishments of the 2006 - 07 EPL students

For all of the students' projects, click here.