Skip to Content

Emerging Public Leaders Class of 2007-08

The Emerging Public Leaders 2007- 08
July 22 - 28, 2007

The Riley Institute at Furman welcomed the 2007-08 Emerging Public Leaders (EPL) to Furman's campus July 22 - 28, 2007, for a week filled with activities and opportunities to learn about public leadership. This year's participants came from Georgia, Ohio, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and various high schools throughout South Carolina.

To view a "Schedule of Activites," click here. To read the students' blog, click here.

The 2007-08 student participants are:

Jordone Branch – Hammond School – Columbia, SC
Drew Callaghan – Holy Ghost Preparatory School – Bensalem, PA
Alana Dillon – Turpin High School – Cincinnati, OH
Anna Lynn Doster – Camden High School – Camden, SC
Anna Eusebio – Grimsley High School – Greensboro, NC
Meredith Gill – Spring Valley High School – Columbia, SC
Anna Gillespie – Greenwood High School – Greenwood, SC
Luis Gonzales – Greenville Senior High School – Greenville, SC
Jay Ingles – Eastside High School – Taylors, SC
Caitlin Jebens – Strom Thurmond High School – Johnston, SC
Lathrum Johnson – Marlboro Academy – Bennettsville, SC
Athena Lao – Clarke Central High School – Athens, GA
Anh Lee – Socastee High School – Myrtle Beach, SC
David Mason – Orangeburg-Wilkenson High School – Orangeburg, SC
Alyssa Richardson – Ridge View High School - Columbia, SC
Whit McGreevy – Porter-Gaud High School – Charleston, SC
Chong Ni – SC Governor’s School for Science and Math – Hartsville, SC
Hannah Shadrick – Girls Preparatory School – Chattanooga, TN
Mikaela Shaw – McAuley High School – Cincinnati, OH
Miya Walker – James F. Byrnes High School – Duncan, SC
Colin Whelehan – SC Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities – Greenville, SC
Mia Wrightson – Parlorview High School – Lilburn, GA

Students returned to campus March 14-15, 2008

As a requirement of the EPL program, each student planned, implemented, and presented the results of a public service project. Presentations were judged and criteria included vision, planning, execution, program impact, and presentation skills.

For the Spring Presentation Schedule of Activities, click here; the suggested presentation outline and presentation guidelines, click here; and the scoring form that the judges used, click here.
This year's judges included Minh Tran, Region Executive-SC at Piedmont Natural Gas; Lorna Fink, EPL participant 2006 and a student at Furman University; Joy Fuller, owner of Fuller Potential Tutoring, LLC ; and Gary Ault, CEO and Publisher of Greenville Magazine.

Winners were selected and received a cash prize that they may either: 1) apply to the budget of the project initiated by the student with the goal of continuing and/or enhancing the project; or 2) donate to any partnering organization or other organization in their community with similar mission/goals as the student's project.

The winners are as follows:

First Prize: Athena Lao $2,000
Second Prize: Luis Gonzalez $2,000
Third Prize Tie: Drew Callaghan, $500 and Anh Lee, $500
Honorable Mention: Hannah Shadrick and Alyssa Richardson

Accomplishments of the 2007- 08 EPL students

For all of the students' projects, click here.