Skip to Content

Emerging Public Leaders Class of 2009-10

The Emerging Public Leaders 2009-10
June 21 - 27, 2009

The Riley Institute at Furman welcomed the 2009-10 Emerging Public Leaders (EPL) to Furman's campus June 21 - 27, 2009, for a week filled with activities and opportunities to learn about public leadership.  This year's participants came from Indiana and various high schools throughout South Carolina.

For the Schedule of Activities, click here.

The 2009-10 student participants are:

Soorya Avali, Spring Valley High School, Columbia, SC
Hakeem Bennett, Scotts Branch High School, Summerton, SC
Graham Bichell, Greenville High School, Greenville, SC
Farrah Bui, Fort Mill High School, Fort Mill, SC
Sarah Dhaouahira, Porter Gaud High School, Charleston, SC
Alexandra Naseree, Riverside High School, Greer, SC
Lindsay Miranda, West Florence High School, Florence, SC
Kayley Seawright, West Side High School, Anderson, SC
Akshay Kumar, Southside High School, Greenville, SC
Anthony Traina, Roncalli Catholic High School, Indianapolis, IN
Shakivla Todd, Ridge View High School, Columbia, SC
Alex Watford, Orangeburg Preparatory School, Orangeburg, SC
Julianne Welch, Emerald High School, Greenwood, SC

The EPL program is funded by KnowledgeWorks Foundation with headquarters in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Students returned to campus March 19-20, 2010

As a requirement of the EPL program, each student planned, implemented, and presented the results of a public service project. Presentations were judged and criteria included vision, planning, execution, program impact, and presentation skills.

For the Spring Presentation Schedule of Activities, click here; for the suggested presentation outline and presentation guidelines, click here; and for the scoring form that the judges used, click here

This year's judges included — Dr. Russell Booker, Associate Superintendent/Superintendent-Elect and DLI participant of Upstate Class VIII; Adela Mendoza, Coordinator/ Program Manager Alliance for Collaboration with the HispanicCommunity/SC Immigrant Victim Network and DLI participant of Upstate Class VIII; and Alexis Sprogis, Riley Institute Research Specialist.  This year's guest speaker at the luncheon was Cindy Youssef, Manager of Diversity Leadership Programs with the Riley Institute and a 2007 Furman alum.

Winners were selected and received a cash prize that they may either: 1) apply to the budget of the project initiated by the student with the goal of continuing and/or enhancing the project; or 2) donate to any partnering organization or other organization in their community with similar mission/goals as the student's project. 

The winners are as follows:

First Prize:  Kayley Seawright $1,000
Second Prize:   Alex Watford $500
Third Prize:  Hakeem Bennett $500
Honorable Mention:  Akshay Kumar and Julianne Welch

Accomplishments of the 2009-10 EPL students

For a summary of all the participating student projects, click here.