Skip to Content

SC New Tech Schools


Two schools were selected during the federal Investing in Innovation (i3) application process based on their rural designation as well as on their location along the so-called “Corridor of Shame.” KnowledgeWorks and the Riley Institute felt that the proposed project was exceptional in its potential to create a model addressing the particular challenges of high needs rural students with a highly replicable and seamless integration of standards-driven content, STEM-infused, cross-curricula project-based learning, and pervasive use of integrated technology.

Colleton County High School in Walterboro adopted the New Tech approach as a “school within a school,” named, Cougar New Tech. Students elect to participate in a lottery to enroll in the New Tech program, one of five learning academies offered at the school.

In contrast, Scott’s Branch High School in Clarendon One is a whole school conversion, meaning all incoming Scott’s Branch ninth-graders enter high school as New Tech students.

In both schools, subsequent grades were added each year over a four-year period in order to eventually deliver the model across all grades. Though both schools’ transition to the model has been funded by the 5.5 year i3 grant, the New Tech approach will be largely self-sustaining after the final year of the project, owing to systemic changes, ongoing community resources, and stakeholder support.


As a subcomponent of the i3 grant project, New Tech Network is expanding in South Carolina. Six additional New Tech schools opened their doors in August 2014, with one each in 2015 and 2016. Fall of 2017 brings three additional schools, including the first New Tech elementary school in the Southeast United States, and two more schools are making the transition for Fall of 2018.

Project-based learning, STEM, and college-access focused New Tech schools opened in Cayce, Greenville, Lake City, and Myrtle Beach. Brookland-Cayce High School in Cayce (Lexington District 2) hosts a New Tech academy as one of several options students can pursue, as does JL Mann in Greenville and Myrtle Beach High School (Horry). Ronald McNair Middle School and Lake City High School in Lake City (Florence District 3) opened as full conversion schools, meaning all students are learning via the New Tech design, as did Carolina High School in Greenville. Greenville Early College in Greenville County reopened its doors in August 2015 as a New Tech middle school, and in 2016 the South Carolina network welcomed Tiger New Tech at Allendale-Fairfax High School (Allendale County). Burke High School (Charleston County) and two more schools in Colleton County, Bells Elementary School and the Health Sciences Academy at Colleton County High School will be the newest additions to the South Carolina New Tech family in fall of 2017.

Explore South Carolina's New Tech Network Schools. Click on the map below.