Skip to Content

Teachers of Government 2011

Teachers of Government 2011
July 16 - 22, 2011

Eight high school and middle school teachers of government from South Carolina arrived at Furman University on July 16th to participate in the Eleventh Annual Summer Institute for Teachers of Government sponsored by the Riley Institute at Furman. Participants spent a week in Washington D.C. where they met with government officials, politicians, non-governmental activists and members of education policy-making agencies. 

For the Schedule of Activities while the teachers are in Washington, DC, click here.

Dr. Elizabeth Smith, a Furman professor of political science, led the participants through Washington, D.C. and engaged the group in evening discussions and seminars on relevant readings and political topics. The combination of intensive learning, networking and exposure to decision makers is designed to increase the knowledge and expand useful contacts of teachers which both support improved teaching skills.  

The 2011 Teachers of Government participants are:

William Francis Allman, Gilbert High School, Irmo, SC
Breana Derrick Amick, Mid-Carolina High School, Chapin, SC
Margaret E. Baggett, Hilcrest Middle School, Simpsonville, SC
Pamela Blackwelder Barefoot, Mauldin Middle School, Simpsonville, SC
Arlaana L. Black, North Charleston High School, Edisto Island, SC
Steven Harold Corley, Sumter High School, Sumter, SC
Kathy A. Howell, Bryson Middle School, Greenville, SC
Laura S. Riley, Hammond School, Columbia, SC

Accomplishments of the 2011 Teachers of Government

Bill Allman, Social Studies teacher at Gilbert High School, has earned the Palmetto Award for District Social Studies Teacher of Distinction 2011.  This award was given by the South Carolina Council for Social Studies.