Skip to Content

Teachers of Government 2014

Teachers of Government 2014
July 19 - 25, 2014

Eight high school and middle school teachers of government from South Carolina arrived at Furman University on July 19th to participate in the Thirteenth Annual Summer Institute for Teachers of Government sponsored by the Riley Institute at Furman. Participants spent a week in Washington D.C. where they met with government officials, politicians, non-governmental activists and members of education policy-making agencies. 

To view the Schedule of Activities for Washington, DC, click here.

Dr. Elizabeth Smith, a Furman professor of political science, led the participants through Washington, D.C. and engaged the group in evening discussions and seminars on relevant readings and political topics. The combination of intensive learning, networking and exposure to decision makers is designed to increase the knowledge and expand useful contacts of teachers which both support improved teaching skills.  

The 2014 Teachers of Government participants:

Daniel Bailey, Pine Ridge Middle School, West Columbia, SC
Taylor Bauer,Timberland High School, St Stephen, SC
Katie Crosby, Thunderbolt Career and Technology Center / Colleton County High School, Walterboro, SC 
Pablo Rivera-Arriaga, W.J. Keenan High School, Columbia, SC
Glenn Robinson, Fairfield Central High School, Winnsboro, SC
Bob Roudybush, Batesburg-Leesville High School, Batesburg-Leesville, SC
Melody Shafer, Meadow Glen Middle School, Lexington, SC
Aubry Stegall, Wilson High School, Florence, SC


Melody Shafer, who was selected Teacher of the Year at her school, Meadow Glen Middle School, Lexington, SC.

Taylor Bauer, who has been chosen as a C-SPAN Fellow for Summer 2015.

Meadow Glen Middle School student wins inaugural ‘Gator Apprentice’ contest (Teachers Melody Shafer and Katie Hamilton put together this real-world skills contest over the summer).