Skip to Content

Teachers of Government 2017

Teachers of Government 2017
July 15 - 21, 2017

Eight high school and middle school teachers of government from South Carolina arrived on Furman's campus on July 15th to participate in the Fifteenth Annual Summer Institute for Teachers of Government sponsored by the Riley Institute at Furman. Participants spent a week in Washington D.C. where they met with government officials, politicians, non-governmental activists and members of education policy-making agencies. 

Dr. Elizabeth Smith, a Furman professor of political and international affairs, led the participants through Washington, D.C. and engaged the group in evening discussions and seminars on relevant readings and political topics. The combination of intensive learning, networking and exposure to decision makers is designed to increase the knowledge and expand useful contacts of teachers which both support improved teaching skills.  

The 2017 Teachers of Government participants:

Melissa Lee Brown, Stratford High School, Goose Creek, SC
Anthony Bufis, Mauldin High School, Mauldin, SC
Sabrina Cheek, Fairfield Central High School, Winnsboro, SC
Jonathan Clayton, Oakbrook Preparatory School, Spartanburg, SC
Anne Moore, Mead Hall Episcopal School, Aiken, SC
Stephanie Peagler, Berkeley High School, Moncks Corner, SC
Crystal Whitaker, Fairfield Central High School, Winnsboro, SC
Jennifer Wike, Wade Hampton High School, Greenville, SC