Skip to Content

Teachers of Government 2019

Teachers of Government 2019
July 12 - 19, 2019

Eight high school and middle school teachers of government from South Carolina will arrive on Furman's campus on July 12th to participate in the Seventeenth Annual Summer Institute for Teachers of Government sponsored by the Riley Institute at Furman. Participants will spend a day on Furman's campus attending seminars taught by Furman's Department of Politics and International Affairs professors on various subjects and a week in Washington D.C. where they will meet with government officials, politicians, non-governmental activists and members of education policy-making agencies. 

Dr. Elizabeth Smith, a Furman professor and chair of politics and international affairs, will lead the participants through Washington, D.C. and engage the group in evening discussions and seminars on relevant readings and political topics. The combination of intensive learning, networking and exposure to decision makers is designed to increase the knowledge and expand useful contacts of teachers which both support improved teaching skills.  

Schedule of Activities coming soon 

The 2019 Teachers of Government participants:

William Carlton Ash, Batesburg-Leeville High School, Batesburg-Leeville, SC
Michael Nathan Campbell, May River High School, Bluffton, SC
Sarah Reynolds Crider, J.L. Mann Academy, Greenville, SC
Leigha Deanne Farthing, Lowcountry Preparatory School, Pawley’s Island, SC
Shawna Marie Fowler, Woodmont High School, Piedmont, SC
Cynthia Roberts Knotts, C.A. Johnson High School, Columbia, SC 
Kerri Pratt, Ware Shoals High School, Ware Shoals, SC
Sarah Campbell Rinker, TL Hannah High School, Anderson, SC