Skip to Content


Summer Series 2017
Straight Talk: Media and Politics in a Post-Truth Era
Secretary Riley and Chuck Todd

The Riley Institute Distinguished Speakers and Panelists 2017-18

  • Jonathan Albright, research director, Tow Center for Digital Journalism at Columbia University
  • Deborah Allen, associate director of Diversity Engagement, Furman University
  • Rita Allison, legislator, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • Jeffrey Ball, award-winning writer and scholar-in-residence at Stanford University
  • Tony Bartelme, special projects reporter, Post and Courier
  • Dana Beach, executive director and founder, South Carolina Coastal Conservation League
  • Charles Bierbauer, former journalist and correspondent for CNN and ABC
  • Charles Bolden, former astronaut and 12th administrator of NASA
  • Erik Ching, professor of history, Furman University
  • Nate Clark, associate director, Deere & Company and vice president, John Deere Foundation
  • Janelle Cousino, vice president & chief network weaver, Fowler Hoffman
  • Allison Crimmins, environmental scientist in EPA’s Office of Air and Radiation
  • Shaniece Criss, assistant professor of health science, Furman University
  • Beryl Dakers, journalist in cultural programming, South Carolina ETV
  • Chandra Dillard, legislator, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • Wes Dripps, director of Shi Center, Furman University
  • Ron Fairchild, president and CEO, Smarter Learning Group
  • Henry Louis Gates, Jr., professor for African and African American Research at Harvard University and Emmy Award-winning filmmaker
  • Sherri Goodman, former deputy undersecretary of defense and senior advisor, The Center for Climate and Security
  • Erin Hahn, associate professor of psychology, Furman University
  • Katrice Hardy, executive editor of The Greenville News and SE regional editor for USA Today Network
  • Scott Henderson, professor of education and director of program development and evaluation, Furman University
  • Erika Hobbs, communications director for the News Literacy Project, Chicago
  • Michelle Horhota, associate dean and associate professor of psychology, Furman University
  • Bob Inglis, former US congressman and founder and CEO,
  • Billy Keyserling, former South Carolina representative and mayor of Beaufort
  • Cynthia King, professor, Furman University Department of Communications
  • Kyle Longest, professor of sociology, Furman University
  • Alexios Mantzarlis, leader of Poynter Institute’s International Fact-Checking Network
  • Roberta Metsola, member of European Parliament for Malta
  • Bill Milliken, founder, Communities and Schools
  • Emilee O’Brien, post-baccalaureate fellow for Social Justice
  • Linda O’Bryon, president and CEO, South Carolina ETV
  • Jennifer Peck, executive director, Partnership for Children and Youth
  • Terry Peterson, director of the Afterschool and Community Learning Network
  • Mark Quinn, former television journalist
  • Dick Riley, former U.S. Secretary of Education
  • Jen Rinehart, senior vice president of research & policy, Afterschool Alliance
  • Nigel Robertson, anchor and reporter, WYFF News 4
  • Carrie Silver, director of Furman’s Bridges to a Brighter Future
  • James Smith, legislator, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • Phil Stoddard, mayor of South Miami and professor of biology, Florida International University
  • Jason Tanz, digital strategist, WIRED
  • Chuck Todd, host of NBC’s “Meet the Press” and political director of NBC News
  • Danielle Vinson, professor, Department of Politics & International Affairs, Furman University
  • Zelda Waymer, executive director, South Carolina Afterschool Alliance
  • David H. Wilkins, former Speaker of the S.C. House of Representatives and Ambassador to Canada
  • Mike Winiski, executive director, Community-Engaged Learning, Furman University