Skip to Content


China's Global Rise Program: (l-r) Don Gordon, Kate Kaup, Brantly Womack, David Finkelstein,
Mayor Knox White, Minister Xie Feng, guest, Ni Shixiong, Wang Dan, Philip Lin and David Shi

The Riley Institute Distinguished Speakers and Panelists of 2008-09 

  • Jack Bass, Citadel Fellow, Department of History, The Citadel
  • Jim Bourey, City Manager of the City of Greenville
  • Ambassador Thomas Boyatt, CEO of the Foreign Affairs Council and former United States Ambassador to Upper Volta and Colombia
  • The Honorable Eibhlin Byrne, The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Ireland
  • Ambassador Carey Cavanaugh, Director of the Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce and Professor of Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution at the University of Kentucky
  • The Honorable Gilda Cobb-Hunter, Representative, District 66-Orangeburg county, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • Armand G. Derfner, Partner, Derfner Altman & Wilborn
  • John J. Dinan, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Wake Forest University
  • David Finkelstein, Director, China Studies Center at the CAN Corporation
  • Minister Xie Feng, Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of the People's Republic of China
  • Bud Ferrillo, Producer of Corridor of Shame, Founder and President, Ferillo & Associates
  • Donald L. Fowler, Chairman of the Board, Fowler Communications, Inc. and Adjunct Professor, Department of Political Science, University of South Carolina
  • Marshall Goldman, Kathryn Wasserman Davis Professors of Russian Economics, Wellesley College and Senior Scholar at Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies, Harvard University
  • Lewis F. Gossett, President, South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance and Trustee, South Carolina Business & Industry
  • The Honorable Nikki Haley, Representative, District 87-Lexington county, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • Kevin A. Hall, Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP
  • The Honorable Robert W. Harrell, Jr., Speaker and Representative, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • The Honorable Kaye G. Hearn, Chief Judge, South Carolina Court of Appeals
  • The Honorable James H. Hodges, CEO and Managing Director, Hodges Consulting Group and former South Carolina Governor
  • Danielle R. Holley-Walker, Associate Professor of Law, University of South Carolina School of Law
  • Her Excellency Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President, Republic of Liberia
  • The Honorable Hugh K. Leatherman, Senator, District 31- Darlington and Florence counties, South Carolina Senate
  • Hank Levine, Senior Director, Stonebridge International and former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Asia
  • Charles David Moody, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer, C.D. Moody Construction Company, Inc.
  • Stephen G. Morrison, Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LL.
  • Jeffrey A. Parness, Professor Emeritus, Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • Janice Poda, Deputy Superintendent of Education, South Carolina Department of Education
  • Matthew T. Richardson, Member, Wyche Burgess Freeman & Parham, P.A.
  • Shelley Rigger, Professor of Politics, Davidson University
  • The Honorable James H. Rex, South Carolina Superintendent of Education
  • D. Alan Rudlin, Partner, Hunton & Williams LLP
  • Ambassador Stapleton Roy, former United States Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China
  • The Honorable Vincent Sheheen, Senator, District 27- Chesterfield, Kershaw and Lancaster counties, South Carolina Senate
  • Ni Shixiong, Professor of International Relations, Fudan University Center of American Studies
  • The Honorable James E. Smith, Jr., Representative, District 72-Richland county, South Carolina House of Representatives
  • Robert E. Stepp, Member, Sowell Gray Stepp & Laffitte, LLC
  • Ronald S. Sullivan, Jr., Senior Fellow, Jamestown Project, Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Harvard Criminal Justice Institute, Harvard Law School
  • The Honorable Jean H. Toal, Chief Justice, South Carolina Supreme Court
  • Howard P. Walthall, Professor, Cumberland School of Law, Samford University and Director, Cumberland State Constitutional Law Project
  • Ambassador David Wilkins, former speaker, South Carolina House of Representatives and former United States Ambassador to Canada
  • Maxim A. Williams, Director of Community Relationship Building, Bon Secours St. Francis Health System
  • Brantly Womack, Professor of Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia
  • Marcia A. Yablon-Zug, Assistant Professor of Law, University of South Carolina School of Law

For further information on all of the Riley Institute's events and programs, search our website.