Skip to Content

2018 Advantage Scholars

Advantage Scholars

A program of the Riley Institute
June 17 – 21, 2018

The Riley Institutes welcomed its inaugural class of Advantage Scholars to Furman’s campus on Sunday, June 17. These incoming Furman freshmen are recipients of the Duke, Hollingsworth, Lay and Townes academic scholarships. They spent four days on campus listening to speakers, discussing critical issues with their peers, and exploring their community. With four fabulous counselors, they also had lots of fun and began building bonds that will last them throughout their time at Furman and beyond. 

To view their Schedule of Activities, click here.

Welcome the 2018 Advantage Scholars participants! Information included below is name, high school and hometown.

Duke Scholars       

Price St. Clair, Watauga High, Boone, NC
Lindsey Cottle, James Bowie High, Austin, TX
Morgen Smith, Berwick Academy, Dover, NH
Maddie Klumb, Henry Clay High, Lexington, KY
Sam Reid Gary, Myers Park High, Charlotte, NC

Hollingsworth Scholars

Erica Daly, Fort Mill High, Tega Cay, SC
Amber Jacobsen, Fort Mill High, Tega Cay, SC
Nick Curcio, Academic Magnet High, Charleston, SC
Lauren Allen, Christ Church Episcopal High, Greenville, SC
Maddie Tedrick, Governor’s School for the Arts, Greenville, SC

Lay Scholars

Shae Rivers-Green, Orangeburg Wilkinson High, North, SC
Maya Dunn, Breck School, Minneapolis, MN

Townes Scholars

Alana Miller, Severn School, Annapolis, MD
Rorie Vander Ploeg, Oregon High, Oregon, WI
Michael Bowling, Brentwood Academy, Nashville, TN
Leanne Joyce, Carrboro High, Chapel Hill, NC
Maggie Welsh, Richard J. Reynolds High, Winston Salem, NC