Skip to Content

Wilkins Legislative and Civic Awards Luncheon 2012

(l-r) Dick Riley, Ed Sellers, James Smith, David Wilkins

Representative James Smith received the 2011 Wilkins
Award for Excellence in Legislative Leadership

Ed Sellers received the 2011 Wilkins Award for
Excellence in Civic Leadership

The Seventh Annual Wilkins Awards Luncheon
Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
January 24, 2012 at 1:15 p.m.

Sponsors of the 2012 Wilkins Awards Luncheon. To view this year's program, click here.

CIA Director David Petraeus was the keynote speaker at the seventh annual Wilkins Legislative Leadership Awards. For his biography, click here

The Award for Excellence in Civic Leadership will be presented to a community leader who has demonstrated a long-standing and exemplary commitment to working to improve the quality of life of South Carolinians. The recipient of this award is a civic leader whose selfless involvement in community is marked by vision, skill, and integrity, and whose efforts to improve the quality of life in the state has required a remarkable investment of personal time, energy, and responsibility.

The David Wilkins Award for Excellence in Civic Leadership was given to Edward Sellers, board chair of BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina and driver of numerous charitable and community-focused initiatives.

The Award for Excellence in Legislative Leadership honors a member of the South Carolina House or Senate who best exemplifies the highest principles of leadership, integrity, compassion, vision, and courage. Recipients have demonstrated the ability to collaborate with fellow legislators, regardless of party affiliation, to effect positive change in South Carolina.

The David Wilkins Award for Excellence in Legislative Leadership was awarded to Representative James Smith, (SC House Rep. Dist. 72), champion of education, environmental conservation and government accountability.

During his remarks, Director Petraeus congratulated the award winners for their accomplishments and contributions to the community. He also reminded the highly engaged audience of the importance of working together as South Carolinians in order to achieve our goals.

The program was emceed by Furman President Rodney A. Smolla and hosted by former ambassador to Canada and speaker of the SC House of Representatives, David H. Wilkins, and former two-term governor of South Carolina and U.S. secretary of education Richard W. Riley.  Senator Lindsey Graham provided the introduction of Director Petraeus.
The Furman University Bell Tower Boys opened and closed the program with patriotic songs, and the national anthem was performed by Jacob Will. 

Many thanks to our generous sponsors of the seventh annual Wilkins Awards Luncheon:

– Charleston Regional Business Journal
– Columbia Regional Business Report 
– GSA Business
– SCBIZ Magazine

Press Coverage

UpstateBizSCan article about James SmithMidlandsBiz

More information on the David H. Wilkins Legislative Leadership Program.