Skip to Content

Wilkins Legislative and Civic Awards Dinner 2011

(l-r) Dick Riley, Wes Hayes, Minor Mickel Shaw and David Wilkins

Senator Wes Hayes received the 2010 Wilkins
Award for Excellence in Legislative Leadership

Minor Mickel Shaw was the first recipient of the
Wilkins Award for Excellence in Civic Leadership

The Sixth Annual Wilkins Awards Dinner 
Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
January 25, 2011 

An overflowing crowd attended the Sixth Annual Wilkins Awards Dinner which honored and celebrated the leadership of Wes Hayes, state senator from Rock Hill, and Minor Mickel Shaw, community leader from Greenville. To view the program, click here.

Sponsors of the 2011 Wilkins Awards Dinner.  If you were unable to attend this event, you may view this event by clicking 2011 Wilkins Awards Dinner from Furman University

Highly regarded for his long-standing statesmanship and leadership, Senator Hayes was chosen unanimously by the Wilkins Award Selection Committee to receive the Excellence in Legislative Leadership Award. Having served in the Statehouse since 1985, Hayes is current chair of the Senate Ethics Committee. Hayes serves on the following Senate Committees: Banking and Insurance, Education, Finance, Medical Affairs, and General. He currently chairs the subcommittees dealing with public education in both the Finance and Education Committees, and in such capacity has been an advocate for fair and equitable funding for public schools and has worked to increase availability of early childhood education. For his complete biography, click here.

The inaugural Excellence in Civic Leadership Award was presented to Minor Mickel Shaw who is widely known for her selfless, energetic, and thoughtful civic leadership. President of Micco Corporation, Shaw also currently serves as chair of The Daniel – Mickel Foundation, and she is a trustee of the Duke Endowment, the Hollingsworth Funds and the Belle Baruch Foundation. She is on the boards of BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina, Piedmont Natural Gas and Columbia Nations Funds, and she is chair of the Greenville-Spartanburg Airport Commission. For her complete biography, click here.

The keynote address was given by Governor Nikki Haley, who expressed her desire to work together with Senate and House members and keep alive the “honeymoon period” between her office and the South Carolina legislature.

The evening’s festivities were emceed by Furman President Rodney A. Smolla and hosted by former ambassador to Canada and speaker of the SC House of Representatives, David H. Wilkins and former two-term governor of South Carolina and U.S. secretary of education Richard W. Riley.

Musical guests were the Furman University Bell Tower Boys and the Spring Valley High School Gospel Ensemble.
Sponsors of the 2011 Wilkins Awards Dinner. To view an article written by MidlandsBiz about the dinner and a photo gallery, click here.

Press Coverage


More information on the David H. Wilkins Legislative Leadership Program