Skip to Content

Wilkins Legislative Award Dinner 2010

(l-r) Dan Cooper with past award winners Gilda Cobb-Hunter, Bobby Harrell and Hugh Leatherman

Representative Dan Cooper receives the 2009 Wilkins Award
for Excellence in Legislative Leadership

The Fifth Annual Wilkins Legislative Award Dinner
Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
January 11, 2010

To view the sponsors of this event, click here.

Over 500 legislators and leaders from across the state of South Carolina came to Columbia to honor Daniel T. Cooper, a member of the South Carolina State House of Representatives from District 10 in Anderson County, who was awarded fifth annual David Wilkins Award for Excellence in Legislative Leadership. To view the program, click here.

Representative Cooper was introduced by his friend and supporter, David Wilkins, who applauded his integrity: “Through the years, I’ve seen Dan grow into a South Carolina statesman: from a Freshman Senator in the minority party learning his way on a new committee to a leading voice in the majority party making absolutely crucial decisions for our state. Through it all, he has never forgotten where he came from, enabling him to face the toughest obstacles with decency, civility, and that Dan Cooper sense of humor.”

Broadcast journalist Judy Woodruff, who has covered politics and other news for more than three decades at CNN, NBC and PBS and currently is senior correspondent for “The PBS NewsHour” was the keynote speaker. Her talk focused on the need for fairness in journalism and bipartisanship among politicians. 

Many thanks to our generous sponsors who made this event possible: 

  • AT&T
  • Furman University
  • Duke Energy
  • Michelin North America, Inc.
  • Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP
  • Progress Energy
  • BlueCross BlueShield of SC
  • BMW
  • Capitol Consultants, Inc.
  • Charleston School of Law
  • Childs & Halligan, PA
  • Clare Morris Agency
  • Clemson University
  • Delta Dental
  • Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, PA
  • Medical University of SC (MUSC)
  • Piedmont Natural Gas
  • SCBIZ News
  • South Carolina Research Authority (SCRA)
  • Statehouse Report
  • The Ballentine Group of Wells Fargo Advisors
  • Time Warner 

Press Coverage  

Anderson Independent-MailThe State, The Greenville News 

More information on the David H. Wilkins Legislative Leadership Program