Skip to Content



The research and communications intern will assist the director of marketing and senior associate in the Center for Diversity Strategies with research and communications tasks. This is a year round position, and it will require approximately ten hours per week with opportunity for more if the student's schedule allows. For more information, click here.


March 22: Roberta Metsola

March 28: Jeffrey Ball, Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow

May 24: Diversity Awards Dinenr

June 17 - 22: Emerging Public Leaders 2018-19. To apply, click here. Applications are due Friday, April 6, 2018

July 14 - 20: Teachers of Government program. Click here for the application. Application Deadline March 23, 2018



Catch up on DLI alums’ professional achievements and honors, and get community action project updates! Click on the image.



August 24, 31 and September 7Summer Series 2017

September 18Henry Louis Gates, Jr., video of the event is available.

October 8 - 13: White-Riley-Peterson Policy Fellowship

October 24: Seventh Annual Dick & Tunky Riley What WorksSC Award for Excellence

November 8 - 9National Conference on Climate Change

November 5 - 11APEC Conference, Da Nang, Vietnam. The students will be posting to a blog throughout their travel. To view their blog, click here.

January 9, 2018The 2018 David H. Wilkins Legislative Award Dinner, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center.    

February 9Law & Society Symposium

Check our calendar for all events at the Riley Institute including the Diversity Leaders Initiative and the Center for Education Policy and Leadership





Roberta Metsola
March 22, 2018

Member of European Parliament (MEP) for Malta
Member of the European People’s Party (EPP) Partit Nazzjonalista

Public address: “Politics in the Age of Populism”
Shaw Hall, Younts Conference Center at Furman University
7 p.m., Thursday, March 22, 2018

Free and open to the public. Registration is not required.

Presented by Furman University’s Riley Institute and Department of Politics and International Affairs. For more information, click here.

Jeffrey Ball

March 26 - 29, 2018

Public Address: "Sharp Fights and Hard Lessons in the Global Race for Cleaner Energy"
Shaw Hall, Younts Conference Center, Furman University
7 p.m., Wednesday, March 28, 2018

As part of Furman’s yearlong exploration of climate change, we welcome Jeffrey Ball, our 2018 Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow. Jeff will spend three full days on campus, visiting classes, conducting a writing workshop, and talking with students and faculty in small groups.

Please join us on March 28th for Jeffrey Ball's public address. Free and open to the public. Registration is not required.

For more information, click here.

Landmark Study Finds Positive Impact of Public Montessori Programs in S.C.

With support from the Self Family Foundation and the South Carolina Education Oversight Committee, the Riley Institute at Furman University has completed a five-year study of Montessori education in South Carolina’s public schools. Showing evidence of positive impact on students, it is the most comprehensive study of public Montessori programs ever conducted in the United States.

“Sometimes people assume that Montessori is an elite approach to education for privileged students, and is only available in the private sector. The reality is the majority of Montessori students in public schools are from low-income households, and they seem to be benefiting in several ways from Montessori education,” said Brooke Culclasure, the study’s principal investigator. 

The study is available online at

To read Furman's Press Release in its entirety, click here.