Skip to Content

Diversity Awards Dinner

The Inclusion Infusion Team: Row 1 (l-r) George Acker, Joe Davenport, Russell Harris;
Row 2 (l-r) Reginald Avery, Sarah Miller, Wayne Culbertson, Diane Eldridge (Sandra Hayes not in photo)

The Upstate Diversity Leadership Awards Dinner

The annual Upstate Diversity Leadership Awards dinner originated as a community action project during the 2004 Upstate Riley Diversity Leaders Initiative hosted by the Riley Institute at Furman. As their group project, "Inclusion Infusion" suggested an annual event that would recognize organizations and individuals for their accomplishments in improving diversity in the Upstate. The idea developed and was quickly adopted by the Riley Institute and the Anderson, Greenville and Spartanburg Chambers of Commerce, all of which have had representatives complete the Riley Diversity Leaders Initiative program.

While many approaches to diversity are limited to the concepts of representation and sensitivity to differences, the mission of the Riley Diversity Leaders Initiative is to educate leaders to make quality decisions to manage diversity through both inclusion and requirement-driven approaches. Winners of the diversity award (individuals and organizations) are role models in promoting diversity in the areas of business, individual leadership, community building, schools and civic organizations. 

Past Award Winners