Skip to Content

Emerging Public Leaders Class of 2008-09

The Emerging Public Leaders 2008-09
June 22 - 28, 2008

The Riley Institute at Furman welcomed the 2008-09 Emerging Public Leaders (EPL) to Furman's campus June 22 - 28, 2008, for a week filled with activities and opportunities to learn about public leadership.  This year's participants came from Ohio, Oregon, North Carolina, and various high schools throughout South Carolina.

To view the Schedule of Activities, click here.

The 2008-09 student participants are:

Jon Baddley — Mauldin High School, Mauldin, SC
Michael Bibo — Fort Mill High School, Fort Mill, SC
Mallory Boyd — Hammond School, Columbia, SC
Elasha Collins — Western Hills University High School, Cincinnati, OH
Brittany Donnelly — Spring Valley High School, Columbia, SC
Landy Fink — East Forsyth High School, Kernersville, NC
Tori James — Forestview High School, Gastonia, NC
Zacharias Kennedy — Fairfield Central High School, Winnsboro, SC
Amber Locklear — Pinewood Preparatory School, Summerville, SC
Charles McIntyre — Ridge View High School, Columbia, SC
Stephen Miller — James Island Christian School, Charleston, SC
Tierney O'Rourke — Jesuit High School, Portland, OR
Neha Parthasarathy — S.C. Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities Greenville, SC
Sean Robins — Strom Thurmond High School, Johnston, SC
Ben Saul — Emerald High School, Greenwood, SC
Twanecia Smith — Western Hills University High School, Cincinnati, OH
Benton Wise — West Florence High School, Florence, SC

Students returned to campus March 20-21, 2009

As a requirement of the EPL program, each student planned, implemented, and presented the results of a public service project. Presentations were judged and criteria included vision, planning, execution, program impact, and presentation skills.

For the Spring Presentation Schedule of Activities, click here; for the suggested presentation outline and presentation guidelines, click here; and for the scoring form that the judges used, click here

This year's judges included — Quentin James, Leslee O'Kelly, Bernie Pritchard and Alyssa Richardson and the guest speaker, Maxim A. Williams.

Winners were selected and received a cash prize that they may either: 1) apply to the budget of the project initiated by the student with the goal of continuing and/or enhancing the project; or 2) donate to any partnering organization or other organization in their community with similar mission/goals as the student's project.

The winners are as follows:

First Prize: Jonathan Baddley $1,500
Second Prize Tie: Ben Saul $1,000 and Benton Wise $1,000
Honorable Mention: Amber Locklear $500, Tori James $500, Sean Robins $500
Honorable Mention for Innovation: Zacharias Kennedy

Accomplishments of the 2008-09 EPL students

For all of the students' projects, click here.

Tori James founded a mentoring program for middle school students, Girls Helping Girls Club. For an article about her project that appeared in the Gaston Gazette, click here.
For an article about Ben Saul's project that appeared in The Index-Journal, click here.  Ben also was asked to speak at a political rally in Greenwood, SC and he expressed how the EPL program had impacted his life. For his entire speech, click here.