Skip to Content

Teachers of Government 2001

Teachers of Government 2001
July 16 - 27, 2001

Ten high school and middle school teachers of government from South Carolina arrived at Furman University on July 16, 2001  to participate in the Inaugural Annual Summer Institute for Teachers of Government sponsored by the Riley Institute at Furman.  The purpose of the program is to provide teachers with the opportunity to expand their knowledge, improve their teaching and network with one another.  The program is free of charge and participants are selected through a competitive application process.

The program spans two weeks.  The first week was spent on the Furman campus where participants attended seminars given by Furman political science professors on subjects ranging from “Slavery and the Foundations of American Government” to “Women and Politics” to “American Foreign Policy.”  

The group flew to Washington, D.C. the second week to see government in action.  From private tours of the Supreme Court to meeting with members of South Carolina’s Congressional delegation, participants got a first-hand, behind-the-scenes look at the country’s political system.  They also had the opportunity to meet with education specialists at the Library of Congress and C-Span, among other organizations, to learn how to effectively use their resources in the classroom.

The 2001 Teachers of Government participants were:

Elizabeth Abramson, Camden High School, Camden , SC
Bobby Behr, Summerville High School, Summerville, SC
Mike Burgess, Spring Valley High School, Columbia, SC
Chris Burkett, Dutch Fork High School, Irmo, SC
Cynthia Capers, Lexington High School, Lexington, SC
Laura Graham, Springfield Elementary, Charleston, SC
Harriet Herndon, Marlboro County High School, Bennettsville, SC
Glenda Hucks, Aynor High School, Aynor, SC
Kristin Owens, Byrnes High School, Duncan, SC
Garrett Walker, Gregg Middle School, Summerville, SC