Skip to Content

Teachers of Government 2010

Teachers of Government 2010
July 17 - 23, 2010

Eight high school and middle school teachers of government from South Carolina arrived at Furman University on July 17th to participate in the Tenth Annual Summer Institute for Teachers of Government sponsored by the Riley Institute at Furman. Participants spent a week in Washington D.C. where they met with government officials, politicians, non-governmental activists and members of education policy-making agencies. To view the Schedule of Activities while In Washington, D.C., click here.

Dr. Elizabeth Smith, a Furman professor of political science, led the participants through Washington, D.C. and engaged the group in evening discussions and seminars on relevant readings and political topics. The combination of intensive learning, networking and exposure to decision makers is designed to increase the knowledge and expand useful contacts of teachers which both support improved teaching skills.  

The 2010 Teachers of Government participants were:

Charles Eskridge, Gilbert High School, Gilbert, SC
Adam Evans, Charleston Catholic School, Charleston, SC
Susan Hilton, Sumter High School, Sumter, SC
Julia Jarrell, Blenheim Middle School, Blenheim, SC
Martin Littlefield, Battery Creek High School, Beaufort, SC
Lindsay Sanders, Mauldin Middle School, Mauldin, SC
Shelly Sands, Mauldin High School, Mauldin, SC
Stanley Williams, York Comprehensive, York, SC